China is moving confidently into bilateral trade agreements with numerous countries, mainly in the Asia-Pacific region. It has has so far sealed 15 FTAs including those with ASEAN (2002), Hong Kong (2002), Macau (2003), Thailand (2003), Niger (2005), Chile (2006), Pakistan (2006), New Zealand (2008), Peru (2008), Singapore (2008) and Costa Rica (2010).

China is currently in FTA negotiations with Australia, Pakistan, the Southern Africa Customs Union, the Gulf Cooperation Council, Iceland, Norway, Switzerland and Taiwan. Further down the horizon there is talk of eventual negotiations with India, Mongolia and a possible three-way deal with Japan and Korea.

last update: May 2012

Read more

Read less